NaNoWriMo

National Novel Writing Month 2012 – 30 Days, 50,000 Words, 300,000 Writers

I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo every year since 2007.* For those not initiated, November is National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write 50,000 words or more in a reckless abandonment of your inner editor. (No plot, no problem.)

I had about decided not to do it this year. It can be quite stressful. And I definitely don’t need more of that this year. But I had this wiggling, niggling thought in the back of my mind that I can manage it without being stressed out. Do it for the fun of it. The fun of writing furiously for 1,667 words a day. Unless you’re a procrastinator, like moi and never write on Sundays. (Don’t know why that happens.)

So I changed my mind and signed up today. Perhaps this is further proof that I’m crazy. Or maybe it’s the smartest decision I’ve made all year. Maybe you should join me.

*With varying commitment and success.